Alexia Putellas was named the best midfielder of the season (source: UEFA)
Alexia Putellas was named the best midfielder of the season (source: UEFA)

In the ceremony in Istanbul, UEFA announced Best Women’s players of the last season awards. Sandra Paños was named the best goalkeeper, Irene Paredes the best defender, Alexia Putellas the best midfielder and Jenni Hermoso the best forward.

Best women’s forward – Jenni Hermoso (Barcelona)

Jennifer Hermoso was named UEFA Women’s Champions League Forward of the Season. The 31-year-old all-time leading Barcelona and Spain scored made seven appearances and scored six goals during Barcelona’s winning run. She finished on the top of goal-scorer standings, together with Chelsea’s Fran Kirby. Hermoso finished first, in front of her teammates, Alexia Putellas and Lieke Martens.

Best women’s midfielder – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)

Alexia Putellas was named UEFA Women’s Champions League Midfielder of the Season. The 27-year-old won the competition with Blaugrana. She made six appearances, scored one goal but made five assists to secure the first ever club’s European title. Alexia has also won the UEFA’s Best player of the year award. Her teammate, Aitana Bonmatí, finished second, while Ji So-yun (Chelsea) came in third.

Best women’s defender – Irene Paredes (PSG)

Irene Paredes was named UEFA Women’s Champions League Defender of the Season. The Spanish centre-back, who meanwhile joined Barcelona, was one of the crucial figures in ending Lyon’s reign in the French D1 Arkema League, where PSG won the title. In the Women’s Champions League, Paredes and her teammates made it to the semi-final, where they were knocked out by later winners Barcelona. Mapi León (Barcelona) finished second and Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea) third in the jury’s voting.

Best women’s goalkeeper – Sandra Paños (Barcelona)

Sandra Paños was named UEFA Women’s Champions League Goalkeeper of the Season. The 28-year-old played 7 matches in the last season of the UEFA Women’s Champions League. Barcelona’s number one conceded just two goals and won the title with Blaugrana. After third place in the voting last year, this is the first award for Paños. Christiane Endler (PSG) came in second, 5 points behind, and Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea) came in third.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here