HomeFrauen BundesligaWolfsburg win Women's...

Wolfsburg win Women’s DFB Cup for the 7th time in a row

Wolfsburg win Women’s DFB Cup for the 7th time in a row after Ewa Pajor scored the only goal in the 118th minute against Eintracht Frankfurt.

Before the last act of Frauen Bundesliga next weekend, the Women’s DFB Cup final took place. After neither team managed to get on a scoresheet in 90 minutes, extra time was needed to get a new cup champion. Ewa Pajor’s late goal brought the 7th consecutive title for Wolfsburg.

On the way to the final, Eintracht Frankfurt defeated SC Freiburg in the semi-final, while Wolfsburg knocked out Bundesliga leader, FC Bayern. Both teams started the match with a lot of energy, but Wolfsburg soon took the initiative and forced Eintracht to defend in their own half with high pressing. Fridolina Rolfö had the chance in the 13th minute but hit the outside of the net. Frankfurt managed to establish the balance on the field and no real action until 42nd minute. Ewa Pajor ran down the right and sent a cross to Lena Oberdorf, but the post prevented the opener for Wolfsburg. The series champions were a better team but unable to capitalize on that in the first half.

After the break, Wolfsburg still controlled the game, but it was Eintracht that almost got in the lead in the 59th minute. Lara Prašnikar received the ball on the left, moved into the penalty area and passed to Alexandra Johannsdottir. But Almuth Schult saved her team with an excellent reflex save. That led to more attacking game from Frankfurt which meant that Wolfsburg also got more space for their attacks. After a quickly taken free kick from Svenja Huth, Ewa Pajor had a lot of time and space but put the ball past the post. In the final phase, Eintracht dropped deeper and Wolfsburg were looking for a late goal. Rölfo was a real threat, but after a solo action, her shot ended on the outside of the net again. In the 86th minute, Frankfurt was very close to scoring again, but Felicitas Rauch cleared Camila Küver’s header off the line. After a very exciting final minutes, Wolfsburg already saw themselves with a cup in their hand, but Merle Frohms deflected Rolfo’s shot into the post in the 93rd minute and sent the game into the extra time.

The extra time started in the worst possible way for Wolfsburg. After Almuth Schult’s foul on Lara Prašnikar just outside the box, the goalkeeper was shown a red card. But that did not stop Wolfsburg’s attacks. Merle Frohms’ intervention was needed once again after Ewa Pajor’s shot in the 104th minute. In the 114th minute, Prasnikar was forgotten at the far post, but Slovenian took too long to control the bar and Sara Doorsoun cleared the ball in the last second. And when both teams were already picking penalty takers, a lighting counterattack brought the win for Wolfsburg. After a nice combination between Huth and Pajor, the Polish international scored the only goal of the game for the 7th consecutive Cup title.


Women’s DFB Cup final

Eintracht Frankfurt – VFL Wolfsburg 0-1 (0-0, 0-0) a.e.t.
Scorers: 118′ Ewa Pajor (W)
Yellow cards: 29′ Lena Oberdorf (W), 120′ Zsanett Jakabfi (W)
Red cards: 96′ Almuth Schult (W)


Continue reading

Glódís Perla Viggósdóttir renews with FC Bayern

Glódís Perla Viggósdóttir renews with FC Bayern München for an additional three years, until June 2026. The 28-year-old arrived to Bavaria in 2021 from a Swedish side, Rosengard. The Icelandic defender soon established herself as one of the key players...

Ana María Guzmán joins FC Bayern

Ana María Guzmán joins FC Bayern München from a Colombian side, Deportivo Pereira. She signed a four-year contract. The 18-year-old signed her first professional contract last year and played 21 matches in the Colombian first division. One of the country's...

Busy transfer deadline at Manchester United

Busy transfer deadline at Manchester United after Irene Guerrero, Gabby George, Phallon Tullis-Joyce and Melvine Malard joined the club. Irene Guerrero arrives from Atletico Madrid, where she spent the last season. Prior to that, the Spanish midfielder played for Levante...